2018 Checkered Flag Party and Awards

On February 17, the Region kicked off our 2018 season with another great party at Lake Forest Sportscars. We celebrated achievements of Region Members in 2017 and acknowleged the beginning of our MILESTONE 70TH YEAR as a Region.
To celebrate this 70th year, the Region invited its previous Regional Executives to attend a special thank you reception prior to the party. The 15 past Regional Executives, shown below, were in attendance

Additionally, 8 members who have been a part of the Region for over 50 years were also honored by the Region. All were recognized for their past AND continued involvement with the Region.
Everyone enjoyed an excellent three hour open bar social get together in the Lake Forest showroom. Because of the renovation in progress a Lake Forest Sportscars, we crossed the parking lot to a great dinner in the service area. The caterer is a well known chef and the food on fantastic.
Following the dinner, Our new RE, Chris Gregor, recognized the outgoing Board members; Dorn Lynch, Claire Ball, & Rick Bentson and welcomed the new Board members; Adam Gottleib, Peter Jankovskis, & Ed Locke.
RE-cognition awards were give out by Rick Bentson to; Anthony Serrecchia, John Sutton, Meghan Connelly, Mike Razny & Scott Sanda for volunteerism over & above in 2017.
Major Award winners for 2017 were:
           Club Racing Driver of the Year- Elliot Finlayson
           Club Racing Rookie of the Year- Connor Sanda
           Dave Morrell Worker of the Year- Jeff Reglin
           Track Days Driver of the Year- Todd Gray
           Founders Award- Steve Laske
A HUGE THANK YOU goes to Rick Mancuso and his staff for letting us enjoy the facilities and great cars for this annual event. Although the renovation under way at Lake Forest Sportscar facility created a couple of challenges, Rick and their staff made everything very enjoyable and successful.