Chicago Region SCCA October General Membership Meeting

The Chicago Region SCCA Membership Meeting was held on Wednesday October 18, 2023 at WeatherTech.  Our guest speakers for the evening were Bob McKee and Tom Simpson.  Bob and Tom shared with us some fascinating facts and history about the McKee Race Cars and other cars that were designed and built by McKee Engineering.  There was a video presentation which told the story of Bob McKee’s racing history.  The story began with Bob’s hot-rodded Ford Model A’s, continued into stock car racing with Tiny Lund, Indy Car racing with Roger Ward, road racing in CanAm and F5000, and on.  Some interesting cars that passed through Bob’s hands, there was the 1967 McKee MK10 Can Am racer which stared in the movie “Winning” with some guy named Newman.  Bob’s 1968 Howmet TX, the only gas-turbine-powered car to take home a victory in racing competition.  McKee engineering also built electric cars, and three wheeled motorcycles.  Here is a link to the video shown at the meeting.

We also had a surprise visit from Cooper MacNeil, who shared some stories about his winning the GTD Pro class victory in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona and invited us to view the winning car which sat in the next room.  

There was also some other business presented by RE Roger Vilmur.  Roger announced the three candidates nominated to serve on the Region’s Board of Directors, Linda Novak, Rich Walke, and Heather Ingram.  They will be elected to the BoD at the November Annual Membership Meeting.  Roger also spoke about the Region’s quest to find a leader for the Membership Committee.  If you’re a people person, and would be willing, and would like to serve the Region, our membership, and the club in this role contact Roger, or any other member of the Board.     

Our next General Membership meeting will be the Region’s Annual Meeting, scheduled for Wednesday, November 29, 2023 at Blackdog Speed Shop, 600 Barclay Blvd, Lincolnshire, IL 60069.  We hope you can attend this gathering of club members and guest, meet the current and new members of the Board of Directors.