1951-1952 Start/Finish 6.5 Mile Circuit
This is the seventh installment in our series showcasing the Historic Markers placed around the original race circuit on the public roads in Elkhart Lake.
Following the success of the first year, the circuit was changed to make the race events more interesting. The total circuit length was increased to 6.5-miles and the start/finish line was moved from its original location on County Road P to the north end of town. The 1951-52 Elkhart Lake Races were the first and last events with true wheel to wheel completion through downtown Elkhart Lake.
The new 6.5-mile course incorporated part of the original 3.35-mile circuit. The Start/Finish was relocated in town on Gottfried Street (County J) near the now historic Feed Mill building in downtown Elkhart Lake. From the start, the course ran southeast and the first turn came instantly, a double dogleg first left onto Rhine Street and then immediately right at Lake Street.
The Start/Finish historic marker on Gottfried Street reads “John Fitch drove Cunninghams to victory in the 1951 and 1952 200-mile main events. Phil Hill won the 1952 100-mile Sheldon Cup race driving a C-type Jaguar.” This marker was donated by: Jaguar North America in honor of Phil Hill and John Fitch. (Historic Race Circuits of Elkhart Lake)