2021 Chicago Region SCCA, Triple Crown Award

The Chicago Region, SCCA, Triple Crown® award recognizes consistent outstanding performance by SCCA racers during a single year, starting with a win at the Chicago Region June Sprints®. The 2021 Triple Crown Award went to four drivers: David Daughtery, BSpec, Indianapolis Region; Tim Day Jr., P2, San Francisco Region; Andrew Whitston, FV, Milwaukee Region; and Sven de Vries, F500, Saginaw Valley Region.

To win the Triple Crown award one must win their class at the June Sprints. Next, the driver must win either their home division class championship or an SCCA Majors Conference class championship or be the national points leader within their class. Daughtery and Whitston were both respective champions in the Hoosier Super Tour. Day was class champion in the Western Conference, and de Vries was class champion in the Great Lakes Division. The final requirement is a first-place finish in that class at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs.

All four drivers have joined a very exclusive club of 49 previous Triple Crown Award winners. Tim Day and Sven de Vries bring the driver count up to 51, while David Daughtery and Andrew Whitston who have already won the award once (Daughtery 2016, Whitston 2019) join the more distinguish group of nine multiple winners.

Congratulations to the Triple Crown Award class of 2021. Along with the trophy these four drivers will also receive an invitation and paid entry to the 2022 June Sprints.

  • DAVID DAUGHTERY (BSpec), Indianapolis
  • TIM DAY JR. (P2), San Francisco
  • ANDREW WHITSTON (FV), Milwaukee
  • SVEN de VRIES (F500), Saginaw Valley