2023 Chicago Region, SCCA November General Membership Meeting 

2023 Chicago Region, SCCA November General Membership Meeting 

“75 Years of Momentum” 

The Chicago Region Board of Directors conducted the Region’s Annual Meeting followed by the November General Membership meeting on Wednesday, November 29, 2023 at Blackdog Speed Shop.  “RE” Roger Vilmur began the business portion of the meeting promptly at 7:00 pm following an opportunity for members to socialize, enjoy some 75th Anniversary cake and beverages and take in the collection of race and collector cars on hand.

The business portion of the meeting had yearend reports from the Treasurer, Competition Chairman, Solo, Track Days, and the Activities Committee.  Dave Tatge, Chair of the Nominating Committee introduced the three candidates for the Board of Directors, Heather Ingram, Linda Novak, and Rich Walke, followed by a vote cast by the Secretary to elect them to the Board of Directors. 

2024 Chicago Region New Board of Directors

In accordance with the Chicago Region Bylaws, the Region has selected the following three Region members to serve a three-year term on the Region Board of Directors.

Linda Novak

Linda Novak has been a member of Chicago Region SCCA for 12 years. She began in Track Events, volunteering with the organizing committee and working as a registrar and starter. She worked in F&C for several years and now is a regular volunteer with road racing registration. She has served on the Activities Committee since its inception in 2016.

Heather Ingraham

Heather’s involvement with the Chicago Region SCCA began in 2018 with a couple of seasons of autocross, but she really found her home in TrackSprint and SCCA Time Trials. Wanting to get to know the tracks better, she began volunteering at check-in, at Track Night in America, and with F&C. Heather has enjoyed working as a member of the Chicago Region Track Events board, in Impound and Grid at Time Trials Nationals, and looks forward to helping at the 2024 Runoffs at Road America. 

Rich Walke

Rich has been an avid motorsports fan since high school days. He began autocrossing in an Austin Healy Sprite. That humble beginning led to a life-long journey in motorsports, racing with Midwest Council, SCCA Club Racing, SCCA Pro Racing and IMSA. During those years, he won fifteen championships, the June Sprints, and finished as high as third at the SCCA Runoffs.

Early in his career he was involved in club management through the Salt Creek Sports Car Club, one of the Midwest Council clubs. During that time, he served as Race Director for two races, and served on the Board up through being the Club President.

Roger Vilmur then introduced the two individuals, leaving the Board, Ed Locke, and Michael Varacins, and thanked them for their years of service.   Later, after the close of the meeting the Board met to elect the Executive Committee of the Board for 2024.  Roger Vilmur will serve as Regional Executive, Anthony Serrecchia as Asst. Regional Executive, Linda Novak as Secretary, and Chris Gregor as Treasurer.  

2024 Chicago Region Board of Directors

Roger Vilmur – Region Executive

Anthony Serrecchia – Assist RE

Linda Novak – Secretary

Chris Gregor – Treasurer

Peter LeSueur

Dave Tatge

Rick Bentson

Heather Ingraham

Rich Walke

The Region also took this opportunity to acknowledge our members at this Membership Meeting.  The Chicago Region is fortunate to have many loyal and long-term members, which participate and support the Region.  We presented anniversary pins to recognize those that have reached a milestone year of membership.  We also recognized and thanked our committee volunteers for all their time and support with our Committee Service gift as a memento of their service to the Region in 2023. 

We wish to thank all those that were in attendance and hope you enjoyed the time visiting with friends, looking at the cars and helping the Chicago Region bring our 75th Anniversary Celebration, “75 Years of Momentum” to a close.  

Please take care and “Happy Holidays” to everyone.